A MERMAID TEA PARTY

mermaid1

I recently made some adorable treats for a Mermaid Tea Party.  Jenni Kayne’s dear friend, Kimberly Muller, wrote a wonderful children’s book called Last Night I Swam with a Mermaid. This beautiful book shares a positive message, teaching kids to respect and protect our oceans. In support of the book and to celebrate Earth Day, Jenni and Kimberly decided to throw a mermaid tea party.  I made two kinds of seashell shaped tea sandwiches, almond butter and jelly and cucumber and whipped cream cheese. On the sweeter side, I made two kinds of scones, frosted sugar cookies shaped like mermaids, seahorses, and starfish, and mini vanilla cupcakes with aqua buttercream frosting. I am so thrilled I was able to be a part of such a magical day. For more on this fantastic tea party and Kimberly Muller’s book, check out Jenni’s post on Rip + Tan.

mermaid2

mermaid5

mermaid3

mermaid4

Images from Rip + Tan

IMG_5213

Here are a few close ups of the Frosted Vanilla Sugar Cookies.

IMG_5214-1

IMG_5217-2

IMG_5218-1

IMG_5215

