CUCUMBER, TOMATO, AND AVOCADO SALAD

IMG_5454Last Friday, Andre and I went over to our friends’ house for a long overdue catch up and some yummy dinner. Gabe and Cara picked up Mozza to Go and we had a delicious meal of pizzas, salad, and butterscotch budinos. Days after our meal, I kept thinking about the salad we had. The simple combination of chopped cucumbers, grape tomatoes, and creamy avocado topped with a dressing reminiscent of the classic Italian vinaigrettes I used to eat as a kid stuck with me. I never think to make a vinaigrette like this when I am creating salad combinations. So, I decided to try my hand at is yesterday, and made it again today for lunch. This salad is ready in minutes and the tangy red wine vinegar and oregano are addictive. Paired with pasta, pizza, or even on its own, I think this salad has endless possibilities and it makes me feel good when I eat it. The other bonus is that I usually have all of these ingredients around the house. Enjoy!

IMG_5447

CUCUMBER, TOMATO, AND AVOCADO SALAD

Serves 2

1 cucumber, peeled, and chopped into chunks

1/2 pint grape tomatoes, sliced in half

1 avocado, sliced in half, pitted, and cut into chunks

DRESSING (Makes enough for 4 servings):

3 tablespoons red wine vinegar

1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil

1 garlic clove, minced

1 teaspoon dried oregano

1 tablespoon fresh parsley, minced

sea salt

fresh cracked pepper

IMG_5448Combine the cucumber and tomato in a bowl. Scoop out the cut avocado and add it to the bowl. Set aside.

IMG_5449

IMG_5450

To make the dressing, combine the red wine vinegar, garlic, oregano, and parsley in a small bowl. While whisking, slowly add the olive oil and continue whisking until emulsified. Season with sea salt and pepper to taste.

IMG_5451

To serve, combine 1/3-1/2 of the dressing with the chopped vegetables. Enough dressing to coat. Taste. Add more cracked pepper and sea salt if necessary. Stir to combine and serve.

IMG_5457

