SATSUMA SHERBET

IMG_3729Orange sherbet has always been a flavor of my childhood. My favorite in the rainbow sherbet trio, I would try to eat around the orange, saving the best for last. This week, with a bowl of satsuma mandarins staring me in the face, I decided to make the adult version of my childhood favorite. Satsuma sherbet made with organic cream and milk, a splash of triple sec, and the sweet juice from my bowl of fresh satsumas. What could be more delicious than that.

IMG_3721

SATSUMA SHERBET

1 1/2 cups satsuma juice (6-8 satsumas)
1/2 cup organic cane sugar
1/8 teaspoon sea salt
Zest of 4 satsumas
1 tablespoon triple sec
1/3 cup organic whole milk
1/3 cup organic heavy cream

In a small saucepan over medium heat, combine 3/4 cup satsuma juice, sugar, and salt.  Heat until sugar dissolves, stirring occasionally.  Remove from heat and pour into a medium bowl.  Zest satsumas directly over bowl.  Stir in remaining satsuma juice, triple sec, milk, and cream.  Whisk to combine.

IMG_3723
Cover bowl and place sherbet base in refrigerator to fully chill. Once chilled, pour into an ice cream maker and freeze according to the manufacturer’s instructions. My sherbet took 20 minutes to get to my desired consistency. Place plastic or parchment over sherbet (to prevent ice crystals) and freeze until firm, at least 4 hours.

Enjoy!

IMG_3731Recipe adapted from Scoop Adventures, Satsuma Sherbet.

