CHICKEN PAILLARD

IMG_3314While in New York this past week, I went to abc kitchen twice. My best friend, Sarah, took me there for lunch and it was so delicious that I had to take Andre back so he could try it. When I am traveling and eating lots of rich food on a daily basis, I get to a point where my body says, I need a salad. This restaurant was the answer to my quest for a healthy, delicious meal. The kind of food I make at home and always crave while I am away. It is surprising how difficult it can be to find this kind of food when traveling. abc kitchen exceeded all of my expectations, from the quality of ingredients to the beautiful simplicity of presentation. I miss the dishes we had there so much that I have started to recreate them at home. Today, I did my take on the Chicken Paillard dish they serve. A simple meal you can make for lunch or dinner.

IMG_3307CHICKEN PAILLARD

Serves 2
2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, pounded thin, salt and pepper both sides
3 scallions, washed, cut into thin rounds
1/2 a shallot, finely chopped
1 tablespoon toasted pine nuts, plus a little extra for the salad
3 brussel sprouts, leaves removed
1 small head of red leaf lettuce or lettuce of your choice, washed leaves removed
1/2 cup watercress, washed
2 cups cooked quinoa
Extra Virgin Olive Oil
Salt Pepper
Dijon Vinaigrette

Fill a small pot with water and bring to a boil. Salt the water and blanch the brussel sprout leaves in the boiling water for 30 seconds. Strain and set aside.

IMG_3309
IMG_3310
In a medium sized pan, heat 1 tablespoon olive oil over medium heat. Add scallions and shallot. Season with salt and fresh cracked pepper. Add cooked quinoa and stir to combine. Once the quinoa is heated through, add the brussel sprout leaves and toasted pine nuts. Stir to combine. Taste and season with salt and pepper.

IMG_3308Place a flat grill on top of the stove top. You can also use a pan if you do not have a grill. Brush the grill with olive oil and turn heat on to medium. Once the grill is hot, add the pounded chicken breasts. While the chicken is cooking, combine the lettuce and watercress in a large salad bowl. Lightly coat the leaves with Dijon Vinaigrette or a white wine vinaigrette. Sprinkle the remaining pine nuts over the salad and season with a sprinkle of salt and a little pepper. Return to the grill and flip the chicken breasts. Cook until all of the pink is gone from the center, around 7-10 minutes total. Once meat is finished, remove from the grill and let rest for 3-5 minutes. Cut the chicken into thin strips.

On each plate, put a generous amount of salad and half of the quinoa. Top the quinoa with the chicken. Garnish with a slice of lemon and serve.

Enjoy!
IMG_3316

